Son of a Son of a Sinner

Thoughts of a Christian…2000 years too late

LAKE CITY – Miami Parody

I just took Will Smith’s jam and brought it 400 miles north.  My version celebrates our humble little town which has been known by many names: Alpata Telophka, Alligator Town, Alligator, the Gateway to Florida, Lake City.  Whatever others call it, I prefer to call it “Home.”

Uh, uh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, uh
Lake City, uh, uh, Cannon Creek, bringin the heat, uh
Haha! Can y’all feel that? Can y’all feel that?
DeSoto Trail, uh…

Here I am in the place where I come let go
Lake City the base where the sunset glow
Everyday like a Hee-Haw, everybody hunt all day
After they bale hay, okay?
So we sip a little sweet tea while we chill
Me and Peter at Ken’s runnin up a high bill
Watchin’ Tigers’ football, old signs on the wall
Everytime the ladies pass they be like, “Hi, y’all!”
Can y’all feel me?  All ages and places; real sweet faces
Every different county: Suwannee, Baker, Bradford, Columbia
Gilchrist, Hamilton, and Alachua
I only came for two days of playin’, but every time I come I go to church prayin’
This the type of town I could spend a few days in
Lake City, where the cattle be grazin’

CHORUS
Party in the city where the heat is on
All night on the river till the break of dawn
Welcome to Lake City (Bienvenidoes Ciudad del Lago)
Bouncin’ in the church where the heat is on
Where we prefer the Bible to the Koran
I’m goin’ to Lake City, Welcome to Lake City

Yo, I heard the rainstorms ain’t nothin’ to mess with
But I can’t feel a drip on the strip; it’s a trip
Goin’ fishin’, fully equipped
Ladies scream out, “Your fly is unzipped!”
So I think I’ma take the bass I caught
Fry it up right here now on the spot
Hottest hole in the city, on Alligator Lake
Temperature get to ya, it’s about to reach
72 degrees in the Ichetucknee
with the hot mommies screamin, “Git’R Done!”
Everytime I come to town, they be spottin’ me
at Olustee there ain’t no stoppin’ me.
So take all your dough and go see a rodeo
Drink a fifth of Jack, instead of merlot
Yo, ain’t no city like the LC; that’s a Gateway to Florida guarantee!

CHORUS
Party in the city where the heat is on
All night on the river till the break of dawn
Welcome to Lake City (Bienvenidoes Ciudad del Lago)
Bouncin’ in the church where the heat is on
Where we prefer the Bible to the Koran
I’m goin’ to Lake City, Welcome to Lake City

Don’t get me wrong, Live oak got it goin’ on
and Suwannee is the city that we know don’t sleep
and we all know that White Springs and Mayo they jiggy
But on the sneak, Lake City bringin’ heat for real.
Y’all don’t understand.
I never seen so many Skynyrd-lovin’ women with farmers tans
Girl, this is the plan:
tubin down the river while sippin’ a can
Of my favorite brand
Dang, my tractor’s sexy
Let’s go to my boat, and troll upstream
Ride my jet-skis; loungin’ ‘neath cypress trees
Cause you gotta have cheese for a summerhouse piece on the Ichetucknee
Water so clear you can see to the bottom
$10 inner tubes, e’ybody got’em
Ain’t no surprise downtown to see James, Montgomery
Lake City, my only home.

CHORUS
Party in the city where the heat is on
All night on the river till the break of dawn
Welcome to Lake City (Buenvenidoes Ciudad del Lago)
Bouncin’ in the church where the heat is on
Where we prefer the Bible to the Koran
I’m goin’ to Lake City, Welcome to Lake City!

1 Comment»

  Jack Wiley wrote @

Just saw the video. love the song. I’d like to have you in for an interview and feature the song on the Mix Morning Show.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,

Jack Wiley


Leave a Reply

